Favorite Skillet Lasagna

As I’m currently unemployed, I decided this week I’d throw myself into my cooking lessons full force. I planned out my menu for the entire week, and so far, my meals have been received really well. One of my favorites this week was the Favorite Skillet Lasagna. I’ve already received requests to make it again.

Favorite Skillet Lasagna

Source: Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet Cookbook

Ingredients:

1 jar of Spaghetti Sauce

1lb ground beef

1/2 cup fat-free ricotta cheese

2 cups egg noodles

1 cup water

1/2 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

1 tablespoon of basil

Method:

First, cook the pound of meat over a medium heat until brown. When the beef is cooked, add the noodles (plus cup of water to help it cook) and spaghetti sauce. Leave that to boil and then simmer on a lower heat. The book says this will take about 8-10 minutes but, expect it to simmer for a little longer than that. Overall, you’re looking for the pasta to be tender.

Once your pasta is cooked, add the ricotta and parmesan cheeses. Stir it in and let it cook for a few minutes. Next, add your mozzarella cheese on top and sprinkle with basil. When the cheese is melted you are ready to serve!

It’s an easy recipe and, better yet, it’s diet friendly. 1 cup only amounts to 250 calories. I should also add that there are some ingredients that I didn’t include. For example, Robert and I don’t like onions so I never include any in my recipes. The book suggests adding 1 small onion (chopped), as well as 1/2 cup of zucchini, and 1 tablespoon of parsley (we had none so I used basil). The recipe also recommends Italian turkey sausage links over ground beef and whole wheat noodles over the regular kind.So maybe mine wasn’t as diet friendly as the cookbook, but it tasted good, and as a clueless chef that’s enough for me!

2 thoughts on “Favorite Skillet Lasagna

Leave a Reply

