Peanut Butter Banana Bread

I love my honey very much, and when I found a recipe for Peanut Butter Banana Bread, I knew he’d love it. The thing is, I want to be the type of wife he’s proud to be married to. I want him to enjoy the food I make and  to want to show off my cooking to his friends. So I keep trying new recipes and new baked goods in the attempt to get better. I am very excited about this recipe because I think he’ll really love it and it’s actually from a Cooking Light book (so secretly, it’s not very high in calories).

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Source: Cooking Light Readers’ Top-Rated Recipes

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana

1/3 cup plain fat-free yogurt

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

3 tablespoons butter, melted

2 large eggs

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

6.75 ounces all-purpose flour (about 1 1/2 cups)

1/4 cup ground flaxseed

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt (I never add salt)

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground allspice (I didn’t have this, so I used mixed spice and I’m told it’s similar)

2 tablespoons chopped dry-roasted peanuts (I didn’t add these due to my recent throat problems)

Peanut Butter Glaze:

1/3 cup powdered sugar (I had about another 1/4 sugar to make it runny)

1 tablespoon 1% low-fat milk (I added about 1 1/2 extra teaspoons again to make it runny)

1 tablespoon creamy peanut butter

Method:

You want an oven temperature of 350 degrees. Mash your bananas, then add the eggs, melted butter, yogurt, and peanut butter. Mix it well and then add both sugars (brown and granulated).

The book says to mix the next ingredients separately, but I was so absent-minded today I just threw them into my mixture. It tastes fine so I think either way is okay. Add the flour, the baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, flaxseed, and if you choose to add it, your salt. Stir ingredients until well mixed. If you decide to add peanuts, add them at this point.

Make sure you spray your loaf pan with cooking spray, and once coated, pour the mixture into the pan. Cook for 1 hour and 5 minutes. The magazine says or until a toothpick comes out clean but 1 hour and 5 minutes was the perfect time when I made it.

The glaze is easy. Combine peanut butter, sugar, and milk and stir with a whisk. Once it is drizzly, pour over your bread.

Now all that’s left is to enjoy. Robert hasn’t tried it yet as he is at work, but I can’t wait for him to come home to a freshly baked treat!

Leave a Reply

