Shepherd’s Pie

I dragged myself into the kitchen yesterday despite how exhausted I felt. My mum offered to cook, but I’d have felt disappointed with myself if I gave up. I took on a meal that’s been tempting me for a while; Shepherd’s Pie! This was a huge accomplishment for me. It’s a meal my mum has cooked for years and one Robert loves, so I had to get it right.

Shepherd’s Pie

Source: Mumsie!

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef
1 tsp curry powder or seasoning
About 3/4 of a bag of mixed vegetables
Water
Bitsto gravy granules
6 tbls of sherry
3 large potatoes
Milk (about 1/4 cup maybe a little more)
Butter (one desert spoon full)
Sharp cheddar shredded cheese

Method:

Peel and slice potatoes into even slices. Place in a pot with water to cover potatoes and put on a medium heat. Leave to boil.

Meanwhile, start browning your beef in a skillet, seasoning with 1 tsp of curry powder or seasoning (your choice). Once cooked, add the frozen vegetables, the 6 tbls of sherry, and cover the ingredients in water. Make sure the water covers all the ingredients. Add about 1/4 cup of Bisto granules and leave to boil. Once boiled, check if gravy is thick, if not add more granules until thick. Once you have a nice consistency, put in a casserole dish.

By now the potatoes should have boiled. Drain the potatoes and put back into the pot. Add the milk and butter and mash away until creamy. Layer the mashed potatoeson top of the meat mix and then top with shredded cheese.

Place in the oven, the temp should be 375 degrees, and leave to cook until the cheese is melted and golden (roughly 45 mins), then serve.

The best compliment I could have ever received was watching my mum go back for seconds and seeing my husband’s empty plate. I made him a huge portion and he ate it all! I guess I’m finally starting to get the hang of this cooking thing. . . or so I hope!

Leave a Reply

