Lime Chicken Tacos

My experience cooking Lime Chicken Tacos is a great example of how clueless I can be in the kitchen. I should have read the directions before I started cooking, but I didn’t. So the first time I saw the recipe was when I started cooking. I had an hour to cook and I realized the chicken was supposed to slow cook for five to six hours- oh boy.

I felt a little stupid, but not discouraged. While the sauce wouldn’t have the same amount of time to marinate, I knew I could still get the same general idea cooking in the skillet. So I did, despite what the recipe called for.

Lime Chicken Tacos

Source: Taste of Home Comfort Foods Diet Cookbook

Ingredients:

1 cup frozen corn

1-1/2 pounds boneless chicken breasts

3 tablespoons lime juice

1 cup chunky salsa

1 tablespoon chili powder (I used a teaspoon because our family has slight allergies to chili powder)

Flour tortillas

Method:

I chopped my chicken into cube like shapes and put them in the skillet to cook. I also poured in the lime juice and the chili powder to soak in while the chicken cooked.After I had seen the chicken whiten a little, I added the cup of frozen corn to cook with the chicken.

When everything was fully cooked, I added the chunky salsa to warm for a few minutes.

Once the salsa was warmed, it was ready to serve.

Maybe the tacos didn’t taste as full flavored as the slow-cooked recipe would have done, but it was easy and tasted pretty good. I’d definitely eat them again. For additional taste, I added avocados and a little queso. Yummmmm.

2 thoughts on “Lime Chicken Tacos

  1. Even though I’ve been cooking for my family for 18 years, I am trying the recipes you post. Everyone has gotten a little tired of the same old-same old so this helps shake things up!!

    • Thank you for reading and for giving them a try. I’m just now learning and I’m already falling into the same old same old trap haha. I’m flipping through cookbooks every week.

Leave a Reply

