Herbed Chicken Parmesan

The meal I cooked last night received the best response out of all the meals I’ve cooked so far (yes even beyond the Sausage and Broccoli Noodle Casserole and Pepperoni Puffs). My mum called it the “best one yet” and Robert gave me the longest compliment he has ever given me. Usually I get a “yeah it was pretty good,” but this time I got, “the chicken was seasoned just perfectly, it wasn’t tough, it was easy to cut through, it was great.” Oh yes, this clueless chef is slowly becoming just a chef.

Mind you, I shouldn’t speak too soon. I’m still a novice and there are still so many complicated recipes to try. For now, I’ll take pride in my success and post this yummy recipe!

Herbed Chicken Parmesan

Source: Cooking Light Readers’ Top-Rated Recipes

Ingredients:

1/3 cup dry breadcrumbs (I used Italian breadcrumbs)

4 chicken breasts (skinless)

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

Pasta sauce (shoot for fat-free)

1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley

1 large egg white (lightly beaten)

1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/3 cup of shredded Provolone (we were out, so I used mozzarella)

Method:

Put the breadcrumbs, 2 tablespoons of parmesan cheese,  basil, and parsley onto a dish and mix well. On another dish, crack your egg and lightly beat your egg white. Cover each piece of chicken in egg white, and then roll in bread/seasoning mix. When each piece of chicken is well breaded, you’re ready to cook. Put on a skillet and cook until white throughout.

Meanwhile, bring water to a boil and cook whatever pasta you like. Once cooked, I chose to add some of the pasta sauce to the pasta. I thought it may be plain on its own, but this is your preference.

Once the chicken is cooked, pour a small amount of pasta sauce on top of each piece. I recommend enough sauce to cover the top of the chicken. Then sprinkle some mozzarella (or provolone) and parmesan on top to melt.

Voila, when the cheese has melted you’re ready to serve.

This is another calorie friendly meal. . . well, the chicken is. I’m not sure how many calories are usually in Chicken Parmesan, but this one only has 376 calories for each chicken piece. I don’t think that’s too bad.

2 thoughts on “Herbed Chicken Parmesan

  1. Pingback: Leaving the basics until last | The Spice of Life

Leave a Reply

