Beef and Broccoli

This is hubby’s favorite Chinese meal, so when I found a recipe I thought I’d give it a try. I didn’t have any  (and I should have), but I didn’t really feel up to it. Robert and my brother both said they really liked it, so I think it’s worth giving a try. But whether it tastes like the beef and broccoli you’d find in a Chinese restaurant, I’m not sure.

Beef and Broccoli

Source: Simple 1-2-3 One Dish

Ingredients:

3 cups of broccoli florets

Shaved beef

1/3 cup low sodium teriyaki sauce

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

2 teaspoons  minced fresh ginger (I used ground ginger)

Rice of any kind (I used the 90 second microwavable Uncle Ben’s Jasmine rice)

Method:

Shaved beef is really thin and cooks fast. So I threw in the ginger and the garlic powder and stired it in with the beef. Once the meat was coated in the seasonings, I added the broccoli to cook alongside it.

When the beef was browned, I threw in my 1/3 cup of teriyaki sauce. Honestly, the book suggested two tablespoons but that’s not a lot of sauce at all. So I increased it to 1/3 a cup (and maybe a little over that too). I left that to simmer and put my rice on to cook.

Once the beef is covered in sauce, and the sauce is warmed, it’s ready to eat!

By the way, this is my brother’s dinner. I could not eat this much food :-)!

Leave a Reply

