A few guilty pleasures in the kitchen

I know I haven’t posted my Chicken Marsala recipe from the other night yet, but as I sit cooking another batch of Pepperoni Pizza Puffs (this time 36 of them), I can’t help but think of some of my guilty pleasures in the kitchen.

What spurred this on you ask? The sight of my Pepperoni Puffs rising in the oven. One of my biggest guilty pleasures is watching what I’ve made (whether it’s the pizza puffs or a batch of cupcakes) rising in the oven. I’m not sure what it is; maybe it’s the excitement of seeing them take shape, or maybe it’s just a really big appetite. Either way, I love watching my creations bake.

Another, perhaps even stranger joy, is looking at all the ingredients and cooking utensils laid out on the counter. Seeing the KitchenAid, sugar, vanilla extract, chocolate chips, and everything else laid out inspires me to want to bake. I can feel the excitement building just looking at the big silver bowl or the bag of unopened flour.

And just as you were thinking I was already strange enough, my final guilty pleasure is decorating cupcakes. I’m not as talented at making my food look presentable, but I do want to work on that eventually. However, when it comes to my cupcakes or cake pops, I want my baked goodies (and the resulting pictures I take of them) looking cute and artsy. I love getting all sorts of cupcake liners (like the recent British flag ones my mumsie surprised me with) and I love getting sprinkles and different decorations to put on top. Combine that with a fancy plate for pictures, and I am one happy baker.

What are some of your guilty pleasures in the kitchen? What makes cooking enjoyable for you?

 

2 thoughts on “A few guilty pleasures in the kitchen

  1. you are awesome. really everything i try to make or bake never tastes very good and i always follow the recipe. i am not sure what i am doing wrong except picking bad recipes every single time i make anything. for cookies, the dough usually tastes good but after it finishes baking, it’s disgusting. oh why?

Leave a Reply

