Calorie friendly Chicken Marsala

I love Italian food and Chicken Marsala is one of my favorites. So when I found a recipe in my diet cookbook I was thrilled. I didn’t feel up to pasta that night so I put mine with Jasmine rice. While it may seem like an odd combination, it tasted really nice.

I will say the breading didn’t work out like the recipe described. Instead of having a nice piece of breaded chicken, I had chicken with random spots of breading. I was definitely disappointed but next time I’m going to try a different approach. This time I sprinkled the breading on top (per the book’s direction) and it just didn’t stick. Next time I plan on rolling the chicken in the breading.

Chicken Marsala

Source: Taste of Home Comfort Diet Cookbook

Ingredients:

Chicken breasts (As many as you need, recipe calls for six)

1 pound sliced mushrooms

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

1 cup of fat-free Italian salad dressing

1/2 cup minced fresh parsley

1/4 teaspoon paprika

1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 cup of Marsala wine (if you don’t want to use wine, the book suggests 3 tablespoons of unsweetened apple juice and 5 more tablespoons of the chicken broth)

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Method:

Trim your chicken of any fat, then place in a ziplock bag with the fat-free Italian sauce. Marinate for eight hours or over night (let me take a moment to say, I did not read ahead as I should have so I didn’t have eight hours. I marinated for 2 1/2 hours and the chicken tasted fine).

However long you chose to marinate, after the time has passed, throw out the additional marinade and begin mixing your seasonings. What you want to combine for the breading is the pepper, paprika, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and flour. Sprinkle on top of each side of the chicken and cook in the skillet until it’s white on both sides. Pull the chicken off the skillet and put in an oven pan. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Meanwhile in the same skillet, add your wine (or apple juice) and chicken broth. Boil the sauce. If there is some breading in the pan, don’t worry. The book suggests stirring to loosen those bits, and from wha I can guess, it helps to add additional flavor to the mixture. Furthermore, the next step is to strain the sauce and set aside.

Next saute the mushrooms in the pan. When browned, add the wine/broth mixture back into the skillet and heat. When warm, pour over the chicken and cover in parsley.

Put the chicken with the sauce into the oven for 25-30 minutes or until the chicken is fully cooked.

Oh and the best part about the Chicken Marsala? Each piece is only 247 calories with 1/3 cup of the mushroom sauce.

One thought on “Calorie friendly Chicken Marsala

Leave a Reply

