Honey chicken breasts

As you can probably tell from my abundance of chicken posts, chicken is my favorite meat. Lucky for me, it is also one of the healthier options as well. There are so many different ways to cook my favorite meat. In-fact, my Comfort Foods Cookbook is filled with recipes using chicken. I particularly love chicken that has been seasoned or marinated with something. Paired with some vegetables, this calorie-friendly meal makes for a quick and easy dinner.

Again, I failed to read the recipe the morning before cooking. Not like it’s a reasonable excuse, but now that I’m working, I don’t even think about dinner until I get home. It’s actually grilled chicken, but for the purpose of time, I fried it in a pan. I also missed a few steps (like marinating for eight hours) and I didn’t adjust the measurements for my dry ingredients. The biggest disaster was the ginger. The recipe calls for gingerroot and, since we didn’t have any, I used ground ginger. But I used two tablespoons which was a BAD idea. It was extremely spicy, but still really good.

The point I’m trying to make is, I’m posting the recipe as I made it. If you reduce the ground ginger to one teaspoon, I think it would be the perfect amount. It was still delicious with two tablespoons, it was just far too spicy. If you enjoy your meals on the spicier side, follow my mistake. As for me, at least I learned a lesson about dry versus fresh ingredients.

Honey chicken breasts

Source: Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet Cookbook

Ingredients:

Chicken breasts (as many as needed for your family)

2 tablespoons minced fresh gingerroot (I used ground ginger, but only about a teaspoon)

½ cup of orange juice

¼ cup reduced-sodium soy sauce

1/3 cup of honey

12 garlic cloves, minced (again, used garlic powder, about a teaspoon)

¼ cup of lemon juice

Method:

Combine the honey, orange juice, lemon juice, soy sauce, ground ginger, garlic powder and mix well. Pour on top of the chicken in the frying pan and allow the chicken to cook in the marinade.

 Side note: again, I didn’t read the recipe before I started cooking. If you follow the recipe, put half the marinade in a ziplock bag and marinade for at least eight hours. The magazine also says to leave overnight if you so chose. Refrigerate the remaining marinade (make sure to cover). The remaining marinade will be poured over the chicken as you grill it.

However, going back to how I made the recipe. I poured marinade on top of chicken in the pan and allowed it to cook in the sauce. I made sure to spoon marinade on top of the chicken, then I’d turn it over, and cover the other side in sauce. I did this repeatedly until chicken was cooked.

I paired mine with roasted red potatoes and green beans in Parmesan olive oil sauce. This yummy side dish is my favorite of Bird’s Eyes Steamfresh packages.

I may have completely strayed from the recipe, but the chicken was still good. I’m not sure how much additional flavor there would have been had I have marinated for eight hours. But even with less than an hour, the flavor was strong and delicious. We just ate the honey chicken this week, but already I’m ready to eat it again. Next time, I’ll actually try the recipe as is.

Each chicken piece is 221 calories, so if you’re looking for a flavorful chicken dish, definitely give this one a try.

Leave a Reply

