Mediterranean Meatballs with Couscous

I’m already getting to the point where I’m losing my creativity in the kitchen. It’s getting harder and harder to find new recipes, so I’m starting to re-use the meals I’ve already cooked. However, that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I really loved the Mediterranean Meatballs the first time I cooked them, and I loved them just as much tonight. The meatballs pack a lot of flavor and the cream cheese makes them really moist. Paired with couscous, it’s an interesting (and delicious) way to enjoy a classic comfort food with a new twist.  And if your husband is as picky as mine, you can put the meatballs in a sub. I did the sub option for Robert and he really enjoyed it.

Keep in mind, I alter almost all of my recipes. I will add the ingredients I didn’t include in italics at the bottom of the ingredients list.

Mediterranean Meatballs with Couscous

Source: Spread a Little Joy

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef (book recommends pork)

1 egg

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 1/2 cups dry breadcrumbs

1 jar marinara sauce (24oz)

1/2 cup of 1/3 less fat Philadelphia cream cheese (or half an 80z tub)

Couscous (whatever kind you like, I used mango salsa)

1/2 cup finely chopped onions

1/2 cup stuffed green olives (chopped)

1 teaspoon dried oregano leaves (these I just didn’t have, it would make a great addition)

Method:

Take your beef, and add the bread crumbs, cream cheese, egg, and garlic powder. If you choose to add the ingredients in italics, you would add these now as well. Combine all ingredients until well mixed. Roll into balls and place in a skillet to cook. Make sure you put some olive oil (about 2 tablespoons) in the pan first.

While cooking, follow ingredients on Couscous packet. For my package, I added water, 1 tablespoon of butter, and all the couscous ingredients. I let everything boil and then turned off the stove and let the pot simmer. Couscous really doesn’t take long to cook, so don’t start this part until your meatballs are already turning brown.

When your meatballs are cooked, add the jar of marina sauce. Allow sauce to heat and you’re ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

