Skillet Chicken a la King

I think my mum misses cooking because she is the one who sent me the Skillet Chicken a la King recipe. It just showed up in my email one day, and I can’t decide if it was a hint for me to get cooking or a hint she wants me out the kitchen! But I had to agree with her, the meal looked delicious. Unfortunately, it turned out bland. It still tasted nice, but it needed an extra something and I still can’t figure out what it needs. It’s just lacking a bold flavor.

I definitely recommend trying Skillet Chicken a la King because it was good. Here’s the recipe, with the original version, too (click the link). I also don’t add times for my recipes because it always takes longer for me than the recipe calls for. So if you’d like a guesstimate on times, definitely take a look at kraftrecipes.com.

Skillet Chicken a la King

Source: Kraftrecipes.com

Ingredients:

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

3 cups of wide egg noodles (uncooked)

2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms

2 cups coarsely chopped rotisserie chicken (already cooked)

1 chopped red pepper (I used a bag of mixed, frozen peppers)

3 cups fat-free reduced-sodium chicken broth

1/2 8oz tub of Philadelphia cream cheese (I used the Sante Fe cooking blend YUM!)

Method:

I added the teaspoon of garlic powder in with my frozen peppers and mushrooms and cooked on a medium heat.  Once they have cooked, add the broth and allow to boil.

Next, add the cream cheese and let it melt. Do not let the mixture boil. Once cream cheese is absorbed into broth and veggies, add the noodles and cook until tender. For this part, you’d be better to simmer the mixture rather than cook on a medium heat.

Now add the chicken (already cooked of course). Heat chicken up and then add the parsley. Make sure to stir regularly.

VOILA! Skillet Chicken a la King.

Do you have any suggestions about a good seasoning I could add? What could I use to make this recipe more flavorful? It really is a dish worth trying as long as it has that something extra!

Leave a Reply

