Hearty Taco Chili

I was going to cook the chili earlier in the week, but I’m so glad circumstances made me wait. Chili is perfect for this beautiful fall weather. It was also a luxury to have everything in the crock pot and not have to worry about cooking tonight.  I can definitely see why everyone recommended I put one on my registry. The crock pot is slowly becoming one of my favorite kitchen appliances.

Hearty Taco Chili

Source: Taste of Home Southwest Cooking

Ingredients:

1 can tomato sauce (8 oz)

1 envelope taco seasoning

2 pounds ground beef

2 cans diced tomatoes (undrained)

1 can of kidney beans (rinsed and drained)

1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies (undrained)

1 can black beans (rinsed and drained)

1 can pinto beans (rinsed and drained)

Additional ingredients not added (due to allergies or dislike):

1 small onion (chopped)

1 can chopped green chilies

1 can hominy (rinsed and drained) – I don’t even know what that is, I had to look it up

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 envelope ranch salad dressing mix

Method:

This recipe is so easy. Cook the meat in a skillet until browned. Then add to the crock pot along with all your ingredients.

Now, the recipe says to add the diced tomatoes and green chilies and mix in a blender. Once smooth, add the to crock pot as well. However, I didn’t do this. I felt it was an unnecessary step, and also, I didn’t use the green chilies!

Cook for 6-8 hours (if your crock pot has a heat setting, choose low).

I loved watching my chili cook in the crock pot. With this cold weather, it was so nice to anticipate a warm, spicy meal for dinner. It was definitely my favorite chili that I’ve made so far (and I’ve tried a few different recipes). With the fall temperatures, I’ll probably be trying a few more too. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

