Nacho Pinwheels

It’s been a while since I’ve updated my recipe blog. The truth is, I’ve had to reuse a lot of my recipes lately as I haven’t had the chance to look up new ones. Then, since my dad was home for a few weeks, my mum has been cooking again. So I really haven’t had anything to update with; however, now my mum is out-of-town for three weeks. For the first couple days I reused recipes, but last night I finally got to experiment with something new. The boys had decided they wanted a movie night, so instead of creating a big dinner I came up with the idea of an appetizer night. I made Pepperoni Puffs and Nacho Pinwheels (my latest find). The plan was I was going to make Quesadillas too, but Robert surprised me by coming downstairs and cooking them with me. I’m not used to us cooking together and I absolutely loved it. The experience completely made my night and I’m hoping I can convince him to do it again.

Anyways, I’ve already posted the recipe for Pepperoni Pizza Puffs, so I’m posting the one for Nacho Pinwheels today. I definitely made some mistakes (like pouring the whole thing of corn and seasoning into the mixture instead of the specified amounts). I think I was just frazzled because I’ve never cooked such a lot of food before. I cooked 24 Nacho Pinwheels and 36 Pepperoni Pizza Puffs. Surprisingly it all worked out and everything still tasted good.

These would be great for a football viewing or Superbowl party. So if you are making plans for one, definitely read on.

Nacho Pinwheels

Source: Pillsbury.com

Ingredients:

 3 oz cream cheese

1 1/2 teaspoons taco seasoning (any kind, I used McCormick)

1 can of Pillsbury’s crescent rounds (I used two cans and made my pinwheels slightly bigger)

1/3 cup finely shredded cheddar cheese

1/4 cup of Green Giant’s Mexicorn (the one that has red and green peppers). Make sure to drain them

Salsa (for dipping)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease your cookie sheet in preparation.

Unroll your rounds and split them into four rectangles (2 strips per line). Make sure you flatten the dough along the lines so they don’t split later on. If you follow my plan of using two cans, you would want eight rectangles.  

Next, combine your cream cheese and taco seasoning. It’s best to leave the cream cheese out for a while so it’s soft and more mashable. I didn’t  do this and it took a while for me to blend.

Once mixed, add the corn and cheese. Blend everything together and spread over the strips. The recipe says about 2 tablespoons for each line and leave about a 1/4 at the edge for rolling room.

Roll the rounds into a circle and cut into 6 slices. If you follow my recipe and use two cans, cut into three slices.

Bake in oven for 13 to 17 minutes. Mine took about 20 minutes as they were slightly bigger. As long as a toothpick comes out clean, you are good to go.

Combine with salsa and you have one tasty appetizer!

We had already stolen some before I took this picture, so it’s not the best shot but you get the idea!

Leave a Reply

