My latest guilty pleasure: whoopie pies

It started with cupcakes, moved on to cake pops, and now I’m hooked on another baked treat – whoopie pies! I haven’t made one yet, but I’ve already started looking at recipes. The only reason I’m waiting is because I’ve been doing a lot of holiday baking and practising no self-control (joy to the holidays)! So for now I need a small sugar break.

However, yesterday I finally bought this adorable book I’d been admiring.

I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but it looks so fun! The recipes sound interesting, too. You can try smores, gingerbread, pumpkin, banana, and red velvet whoopie pies. The book also offers a variety of different fillings so you can mix and match what you make. The one I really want to try is the Almond Joy (a chocolate whoopie pie with a coconut filling and crush almonds around the side). As for hubby, he wants me to make the jalapeno cornbread whoopies with a maple-bacon filling. . . I think I’ll be leaving those for him to try!

 

 

Leave a Reply

