Beef and potato skillet with roasted red pepper sauce

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted a recipe, so I think it’s about time I share one. Recently I found a delicious beef and potato meal on my favourite site (Pillsbury.com). I really love skillet meals and I’ve been trying to find more and more of them. Since Robert and I don’t eat a lot at dinner, it’s perfect to have something packed full of ingredients in a smaller serving. Plus, they’re quick and easy to make, too. 

Beef and Potato Skillet Dinner

Source: Pillsbury.com

Ingredients:

4 teaspoons vegetable oil

1 drained jar of roasted red bell peppers (about 7 oz)

1 bag of thawed broccoli florets (the site recommends Green Giant but any will do)

½ cup half-and-half

¼ teaspoon pepper

1 bag of diced potatoes (cooked and roughly 20 oz)

1 teaspoon fresh tarragon leaves (chopped)

 1 lb of ground beef (recipe calls for beef sirloin steak in strips, but ground beef tasted good, too)

 ½ teaspoon of salt

Side note: instead of pepper and salt, I used Season All (I don’t know how much I used, but I kept adding until it tasted how I liked it)

Method:

Blend the half-and-half and the roasted red peppers with a blender. If you’re like me and don’t want to get out a big blender for a smaller dish, a hand mixer works well, too. Mix until completely blended.

In a pan, cook the potatoes with two tablespoons of the olive oil. Cook in the pan until the potatoes are tender. Take out of the pan and leave in a covered bowl.

Next, cook the beef (using the pan you cooked the potatoes in) with the remaining tablespoons of olive oil. This is when you would add the salt and pepper; however, if you want to use Season All like I did, wait until you add the sauce.

Combine the potatoes and broccoli to the beef. Next, add the red pepper sauce and allow to cook on a low heat. Add the Season All and keep tasting to find the right amount of seasoning for you. Finally, sprinkle with tarragon leaves.

I still felt like the recipe was missing something. It tasted good, but it was just a little bland. Any suggestions on a seasoning I could use next time?

One thought on “Beef and potato skillet with roasted red pepper sauce

Leave a Reply

