Cooking with my mumsie

Tonight my parents had a Christmas cocktail party at their house. Usually they throw an annual Oktoberfest, but since my dad has been living in Australia, they opted to do a Christmas shindig instead. One detail I loved about the party was the tasting sets my mum used. Instead of providing a big display of foods, she planned little appetizers in those adorable miniature goblets and martini glasses you can buy. It was fabulous!

However, what I loved even more than the tasting party idea, was that my mum allowed me to help this year. I feel like it’s proof of how far I’ve come as a cook. Last year I didn’t know anything about baking or cooking. Now, I’m helping my mum throw a big neighborhood party by making mini desserts! It was one of those memories I won’t forget. I loved cooking alongside my mum and will cherish that moment we had together. I hope we can do the same thing next year, too.

Here’s what I contributed to the party:

They are  Chocolate Peanut Butter Parfaits. On the bottom there is a chocolate graham cracker mix with chocolate drizzle, and there is peanut butter mouse mixture and chocolate drizzle on top.

Here’s how you make them!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Parfaits

Source: Just Mini Desserts by Robert Zollweg

Ingredients:

1 tsp vanilla

4 tbsp of melted butter

1/2 cup of peanut butter

1- 1/2 cups crushed chocolate graham crackers (I used teddy bear grahams)

1 8oz package of cream cheese

1/2 cup of chocolate ice cream syrup

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tbsp honey

3 tbsp milk

12 parfait shooter glasses (2-3 0z each)

Method:

Crush the graham crackers into fine pieces, and combine with honey and melted butter. Once mixed, spoon roughly a teaspoon into each shooter glass.

Drizzle the graham crackers with the chocolate syrup and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine peanut butter and cream cheese. Once well mixed, add the powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk. Continue blending until completely smooth.

You’ll want to top the parfaits with chocolate syrup or chocolate shavings when finished. You could even add peanuts on top; however, I refrigerated them for a few hours before garnishing.

Unfortunately, I did miss one ingredient in the parfaits. I was exhausted this morning and didn’t read the recipe as clearly as I should have. You are supposed to fold whipping cream into the peanut butter mixture. I didn’t realize that until I sat down to write this blog. I will say that it tasted pretty good without the whipping cream! I’m still disappointed, but everyone at the party seemed to enjoy it!

2 thoughts on “Cooking with my mumsie

Leave a Reply

