Baking on the brain

It must be the holiday season, but for some reason, I just want to bake, bake, and bake some more. Today I had to get a little writing done for my newlywed blog, The Making of a Mrs, but tomorrow I’ll be right back in the kitchen. In the meantime, I thought I’d share a few of the baking goodies I’ve splurged on. Since I had some extra money in my pocket, I spoiled myself by buying lots of little baking tools. There’s absolutely nothing like buying something new for the kitchen. I get so excited about all my new gadgets and the different recipes I can make with them.

Cupcake Surprise Pan

Photograph from Bed, Bath and Beyond

I’ve been longing to make cupcakes with something fun in the center. I have a cupcake plunger, but sometimes, I just want to stick a Hershey chocolate or a Reese’s cup in the middle. I tried that with my chocolate peppermint cupcakes, but the kisses just sunk to the bottom. I’ve already got plans to try this out tomorrow.

Sleigh Cupcake Holder

Photograph from Crate and Barrel

I found these on someone’s blog (I apologize, I don’t remember which blog specifically), and instantly headed to Google to find out where to buy them. How adorable are they? I’ve never purchased anything from Crate and Barrel before, but I can tell I’ll be going back again.

Ornament Cookie Cutters

Photograph from Crate and Barrel

I also got these cookie cutters because I am definitely going to host a cookie swap next year. I love all of the sugar cookies I’ve seen that are decorated as ornaments and now I’ll be able to try them out myself.

I’m still looking for some whoopie pie pans. I drove around to a couple Bed, Bath, and Beyond stores yesterday and they were sold out everywhere! There aren’t any online either. I don’t really need them to make whoopie pies, I just think they’ll make for a smoother, prettier looking pie.

What’s on your baking wish list for Christmas? Have you spoiled yourself with a few baking goodies this year?

5 thoughts on “Baking on the brain

  1. You have two blogs?? Even when I didn’t have a baby one blog was consuming enough, haha. Good for you.

    I don’t know how much the ornament cookie cutters are, but I saw on Pinterest, someone had the idea of baking brownies in ornament cookie cutters, and decorating them like ornaments, and giving them as gifts. Super cute!

  2. Pingback: The foods I hope to conquer in 2012 « The Spice of Life

Leave a Reply

