Mother-daughter time at Christmas

I was so excited when I opened this gift from my mum on Christmas day.

I have wanted “The Newlywed Kitchen” cookbook for a while and I can’t wait to try out the recipes. As for the rolling pin, apparently it’s a little mother-daughter tradition in England. A mother gives a rolling pin to her newly married daughter so that she can keep her husband in line. I’m sure I won’t have to use it. . . all the time that is.

My mum and I have always had a close relationship. Actually, she’s been the one helping me to grow as a cook/baker. Well. . . when I’m not panicking about a recipe going wrong. I can be such a nightmare in the kitchen, but my mum is always there to help me learn or to save the day.

This year she started showing me how to roast a turkey. For the longest time I’ve felt that cooking a roast dinner is a bigger task than I’m ready for; however, next year I want to try. If hubby and I have our own place, I want family to come to our home for the holidays so that I can cook dinner. I know if I keep learning from my mum I’ll survive.

I’m so grateful for the time we share together, and even when I’ve moved out, I hope we’ll always begin new traditions during the holidays.

Picture by Fort Mill Photography

One thought on “Mother-daughter time at Christmas

Leave a Reply

