My first attempt at red velvet

There is something wonderful about red velvet. Maybe it’s the pop of red, or maybe it’s how delicious the cream cheese frosting is, but red velvet is one of my favourite flavours. I had always been a little nervous about trying to make it. Not that I’d truly looked at the ingredients, but I knew vinegar, food colouring, and a variety of other ingredients I hadn’t used were involved; however, I wanted to bake something for the Christmas celebration with my cousin-in-laws. Remembering how much they love red velvet, I decided it was time to give the recipe a try.

I was happy with the cake, but the icing was way too sweet. Usually I do okay with my cream cheese frosting, but I think my exhaustion got the better of me this time. After all, I had done a lot of baking that week. The recipe was actually for a raspberry red velvet (complete with alcohol) which I am longing to try. Since I needed a plain red velvet for this event, I skipped the raspberry additions. Stay tuned though, I’ll definitely be trying that twist soon.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Source: Better Homes and Gardens Special Interest Publications: Cupcakes 150 Sweet Recipes

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups of sugar

3/4 cup of butter

1 1/3 cups of buttermilk (or sour milk)

3 eggs

1 teaspoon of vanilla

2 tablespoons of red food colouring

3 cups of all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons of vinegar

1 tablespoon of cocoa powder (unsweetened)

2 tablespoons of milk

1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine cocoa powder and flour in a bowl. Once mixed, leave to the side, and beat butter in a separate bowl. Now combine the sugar with the butter. The recipe suggests gradually adding a 1/4 of a cup until all the sugar is mixed in.

Now add your eggs. Make sure to mix in each egg separately and beat each time you add one. Once the eggs and sugar/butter mixture are combined, add the milk, food colouring, and vanilla. Stir until mixed.

Take the flour and cocoa from earlier and add about 1/2 a cup to your batter. Briefly stir, and then add some of the buttermilk to the mix. Continue alternating the flour and buttermilk until both ingredients are gone.

In a separate bowl, mix your vinegar and baking soda. Now add to the batter and combine well.

Bake for 20 minutes.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Source: Better Homes and Gardens Special Interest Publications: Cupcakes 150 Sweet Recipes

Ingredients:

5 1/2 to 6 cups of powdered sugar

1/2 cup of butter

2 teaspoons of vanilla

1 package of 1/3 fat cream cheese (8 oz)

Method:

Combine the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla with handheld or standing mixer. Once light and fluffy, add the powdered sugar one cup at a time.

Side note: make sure to taste after about 3 cups of sugar. As I mentioned, mine was far too sweet, and testing along the way you’ll be able to determine the right amount of sweetness for your tastes.

These are the ones I took for my cousin-in-laws. The recipe makes more than nine, but I left some for my brother who also loves red velvet.

 

2 thoughts on “My first attempt at red velvet

  1. I LOVE red velvet too! Have you tried the flour-based vanilla icing? Sounds gross, but the flour taste is cooked out, and it’s not overly sweet. There’s something to be said about a good cream cheese frosting though…mmm…

Leave a Reply

