Light Chicken Cordon Bleu

It’s only been two days, but I am extremely excited that I’ve cut back on my sugar. I haven’t completely stopped eating chocolate, but I’ve only had a few small pieces yesterday and today. For me, that’s a big accomplishment. Alongside eating less sugar, I’ve made healthier meals, too. Sunday I made orange carrot muffins and tonight I made Light Chicken Cordon Bleu.

I am really happy with the way the recipe turned out. Even with all the low-fat ingredients, it was still flavoursome. My family said they liked it, too. So overall, tonight’s cooking adventure was a success!

Light Chicken Cordon Bleu

Source: Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet Cookbook (the Quick and Easy Favorites edition)

Ingredients:

4 slices of deli ham

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 1/2 cups of shredded part-skim mozzarella

1 teaspoon paprika

2/3 cup of fat-free milk

1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder

1 cup of crushed cornflakes

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Start by pounding the chicken until flattened. Now add a slice of ham to each piece of chicken followed by three tablespoons of mozzarella. Roll until ham and cheese are covered and seal with a toothpick. When rolled, the chicken should almost look like a pinwheel.

Now, mix the paprika, cornflakes, and garlic powder in a bowl. In a separate, flatter dish, pour in the milk. Roll the chicken in the milk and then cover in the cornflake mix.

Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes (mine took 35 mins), leaving the chicken uncovered while it cooks.

Once the chicken is fully cooked, you are ready to serve!

 

Leave a Reply

