Disney Crazed!

Sorry I’ve been quiet for a few days. I just started a new job on Monday and have been working the usual 9-5 shift. Combine that with rush-hour traffic and the fact I currently live 45 minutes from work, when I get home I just pass out on the couch! I’m not sure if I mentioned this, but since times are hard, hubby and I have been living with my parents. This week, my mum has kindly offered to cook while I get used to my schedule – I know, I’m very lucky! As such, there won’t be any recipe posts until the weekend, but with my love of blogging I couldn’t stop posting for a week!

For the last few days I’ve been hit by the Disney bug. It could be because Robert took me on a date to see “Beauty and the Beast” or it could just be because Disney is wonderful! Either way, I’ve been a little obsessed. In honor of my current mood, I thought I’d share the cupcakes I made for a friend’s bridal shower.

The cupcakes themselves were just chocolate and vanilla. The icing was vanilla buttercream dyed with blue food colouring (since they were having a boy). The ears were pretty simple, although I did get help as I’d never worked with fondant before.

Here are the basic steps:

Either dye fondant with black food colouring or purchase black fondant from Michael’s.

Roll the fondant out, and using a small bottle cap, cut out circles for the ears.

Unless you are putting out the cupcakes that day, leave the ears to harden a little before putting them in the icing. Actually, even if you are preparing them that day, I’d still leave a little time for the ears to dry. If you put all the ears on right away, there is a good chance they will fold over.

When hardened, place carefully on either side of the icing. Even after they’ve dried, they will still be a little soft, so don’t push too hard when adding them to your cupcakes.

VOILA! Mickey Mouse ears!

I was so excited with the way these turned out. Not only were the cupcakes moist and fluffy, but everything went together nicely. I didn’t have any disasters in the kitchen and the mom-to-be (as of yesterday, new mother) loved them. In the end, that’s what mattered the most.

 

4 thoughts on “Disney Crazed!

  1. Those are so cute! We love Disney here too. I went almost every year growing up. My family went a few summers ago, so my husband got to go for the first time since he was a little kid. He is a little obsessed now. I’m sure we will be taking Simon before he is even old enough to really get it 🙂

Leave a Reply

