A light and easy lunch

Okay, I didn’t cook as much as I wanted to this weekend. There was a nasty bug going around my training class, and when I woke up Saturday morning, I had it, too. So Saturday I kinda just lazed around and did nothing, but today I tried a variation on something a classmate told me about. She mentioned that she always snacks on a mango/avocado quesadilla. I love mango and I love, love, LOVE avocado, so I was pretty much hooked. Well, I’m trying a gluten-free diet for a week to see if my illness is actually a wheat allergy, which meant I had to think of something outside of a quesadilla. My mind instantly went to rice.

Combined with a little cheese and salsa, I had the makings of a delicious, quick, and easy lunch! Let me share with you.

Mango and avocado naked burrito

Source: classmate and my own mind

Ingredients:

Uncle Ben’s Jasmine Rice (90 second microwavable kind)

1 avocado

1 mango

1/4 cup of shredded Mexican cheese

2 tablespoons of mango salsa (Newman’s Own)

Method:

Cut and dice both your mango and avocado. Set in the pan on a medium heat and cook until nice and soft. When you have about a minute or two left, add the Mexican cheese to melt.

Now put your rice in the microwave to cook. Once done, pour in a bowl, add your avocado/mango mix on top, and finish with the mango salsa. You can even add a little extra cheese if desired.

See, quick, easy, and quite scrummy, too! If you’re looking for something a little different and light, definitely try this mango and avocado naked burrito.

3 thoughts on “A light and easy lunch

  1. Pingback: The ultimate weekend comfort | The Spice of Life

Leave a Reply

