Lime-cilantro chicken

I think my gluten free experiment is proving that my illness is wheat related.  I accidentally had wheat on Friday for lunch. I didn’t read the ingredients in a Marie Callender meal because it was just rice, chicken, and mushrooms. I thought those ingredients were pretty safe; however, there was wheat in it and that night and the next day I was really sick. After feeling pretty good all week, my sudden change in wellness has to mean something. There’s still a chance it’s something else making me feel this way, but after experimenting I do think at least part of it is a wheat allergy.

I still have a little while until my next appointment (which is the endoscopy) and I’m hoping to learn more about my blood tests then. For now I think I’ll stay gluten-free. This Saturday I made lime-cilantro chicken and my mum made delicious cheese and parsley mashed potatoes to go with it. I’ll have to post the recipe for the mashed potatoes later on. I haven’t tried to make them myself yet, but they are a delicious addition to any meal! Here’s the lime-cilantro chicken to start with!

Lime-cilantro chicken

Source: Artisanal Gluten-Free Cooking by Kelli Bronski and Peter Bronski

Ingredients:

Lime juice from one whole lime

1 cup of orange juice

Skinless, boneless chicken pieces (you can use up to 6 pieces for this mixture)

2 teaspoons of pepper

1/4 cup of olive oil

1/4 cup of fresh cilantro (roughly chopped)

2 tablespoons of garlic (minced)

Method:

Cook the 1/4 cup of olive oil and garlic in a skillet. Next, throw in the lime juice and the orange juice. Leave those flavours to blend for about five minutes and add the pepper and cilantro.

At this point you are supposed to marinate for an hour or a whole day, but as usual I didn’t read the recipe correctly. So I put the chicken straight in the pan to cook with the marinade. Every time I turned my chicken, I spooned the marinade over the top. I think it turned out just as good as leaving it over night. Although, I’m sure leaving it longer would have resulted in a stronger taste.

One thought on “Lime-cilantro chicken

Leave a Reply

